The Start of Something New

“This could be the start of something new, it feels so right to be here with you, oh oh. And now looking in your eyes, I feel in my heart the start of something new.” High School Musical

My five weeks in Latvia and Romania have come to a close. There were good days, amazing days, exhausting days and even a couple of sick days thrown in there. Despite how a particular day was going, every single one of them was a day of learning and growing. I honestly feel like I am leaving with a better understanding of who I am, who I was created to be, and what I am called to do. I left Florida on June 19th confused with worries and doubts about my calling, and I am returning, not with all of the answers by any means, but with a renewed faith in knowing that I do not, and will never have all the answers. Instead I know that my best friend, leader of my life, confidant, refuge, and father, knows and has known all the answers for eternity, and I can rest in that.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Leaving Latvia was the most bittersweet feeling I think I have ever experienced. I felt like I had finally returned home and then was abandoning it for a second time, but I also left with a sense of peace and quite a fair share of excitement, having confirmation in my heart that it would not be my last time coming home. What that entails, well as I said, I by no means have all the answers, nor do I know the plans of the Lord, so I frankly have no clue at all. For his thoughts are not my thoughts and his ways are not my ways, (Isaiah 55:8). Nonetheless, I am excited. Excited to see the Lord’s plan come to fruition, and excited to see what he still has for me in Latvia.

My dear, sweet, Romania. First off, I can not, and will never get over how beautiful of a country it is. All I had to do was look out of a window and I was stunned and amazed by the Lord’s creation. Despite the beauty, my heart remains broken for all the gypsies, particularly the gypsy girls and teenagers. The ministry that is here in Romania however, is providing SO much hope! As I learn more and more about Hope for Romania, the more I am amazed by all the Lord has done and is doing. I am now more excited than ever to continue working with this amazing ministry, the gypsies, and Camp Joy, in and out of Romania.

The Lord is doing a work in me, Latvia, Romania, and this trip was just a launching pad for what I hope to be the start of something new.

“Go out in joy and be lead forth in peace; the mountains and hills before you shall break forth into singing.” Isaiah 55:12

One thought on “The Start of Something New

  1. Wendy Foster says:

    I’m so glad that I had the honor of meeting you and serving along side you this summer in Romania. You’re an amazing young lady with a heart and passion for people. I’ll be praying for you and hoping our paths cross again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

