I’m Finally home…

I stepped off of the plane and the language filled my ears from every corner.

I go to the ATM and it isn’t in English, yet I perfectly understand.

My friend pulls up to pick me up, and we speak in Latvian because it’s just what happens. Anything else would be weird.

I grew up in this country, surrounded by Latvians, speaking Latvian myself, and making everyone think I was Latvian. For 13 years it was my home, and yes, I missed it, but I didn’t really realize how much until this week. 

The streets, the parks, the people, the smell, the cold, and the culture. It is so different than the place I call home now. But yet, I still feel more at home here, even though I now stick out like a sore thumb. I may not fit in here as well as I once did, but everything here, fits in me.

I love every little thing about this country and I am so happy to finally be back home.

From seeing friends, to walking around and just being surrounded by my home, this weeks has been so incredible. 

In the weeks leading up to my trip, I had been a little anxious about the homesickness I thought I was going to feel. It has kind of shocked me how little I’ve missed anything. I’m praising the Lord for easing all of my nerves. I’ve been completely at peace the whole time, no worry in sight, and I’m praying that this rings true for the rest of the five weeks I’m gone. 

I have been hooked on the book of Isaiah this week, and two of my favorite verses have been Isaiah 55:11-12 and it has been such a comfort and joy to me this week. 

“So shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it. For you shall go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills before you shall break forth into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.”

We have Joy and are being led by peace as we start camp this next week. My prayer is that we do everything, say everything, in the name of the Lord and dwell in his presence as we teach and show all of the people we encounter Jesus.

Leave a Reply

